Toprak Razgatlioglu dominates the opening practice in San Juan

Toprak Razgatlioglu dominates the opening practice in San Juan

Toprak Razgatlioglu dominated after taking the lead from the beginning to the end of the first practice for the Argentine WorldSBK round in San Juan.

Jonathan Rea initially led Razgatlioglu by seven-tenths during FP1, but fell to second as the reigning world champion started to find his groove.

Razgatlioglu improved his position at the top of the standings by seven tenths with a timing of 1:38.404 seconds. The Yamaha rider’s time made him the first rider to record a lap that was under 1 minute and 39 seconds, as everyone else found it difficult to do so.

Rea managed to pass the Turkish racer by four tenths on his fifth flying lap, but when Razgatlioglu came very near to establishing a 1m 37s time, the gap between the top two widened to +0.446s.

Alvaro Bautista eventually joined the top five fight as he went fourth quickest, just over half a second behind Razgatlioglu, who maintained four-tenths of a second ahead of Alex Lowes with half the session left. He had been slow to catch up to his two title rivals.

Rea moved back in front of his teammate at the start of his second run, but the six-time WorldSBK champion was still more over four tenths behind Razgatlioglu.


1Toprak RazgatliogluTURPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK1:37.511s
2Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+0.322s
3Andrea LocatelliITAPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK+0.571s
4Alvaro BautistaSPAAruba.It Racing Ducati+0.642s
5Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+0.932s
6Iker LecuonaSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+0.941s
7Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+0.943s
8Scott ReddingGBRBMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+1.036s
9Michael RinaldiITAAruba.It Racing Ducati+1.307s
10Michael Van Der MarkSPABMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+1.669s
11Loris BazFRABonovo Action BMW+1.706s
12Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team+1.780s
13Eugene LavertyIRLBonovo Action BMW+1.843s
14Lucas MahiasFRAPuccetti Kawasaki+1.899s
15Philipp OettlGERGoEleven Ducati+1.953s
16Xavi ViergeSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+1.988s
17Xavi ForesSPABarni Spark Ducati Team+2.065s
18Leandro MercadoARGMIE Honda Racing+2.464s
19Oliver KonigCZEOrelac Racing Kawasaki+3.050s
20Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha+3.106s
21Maximilian ScheibGERMIE Honda Racing+4.269s
22Marco SolorzaARGPedercini Kawasaki+5.636s

Leave a Reply