Rea leads Razgatlioglu in the second practice for Argentina WorldSBK

Rea leads Razgatlioglu in the second practice for Argentina WorldSBK

PATA Yamaha’s Toprak Razgatlioglu outperformed championship rivals Jonathan Rea and Alvaro Bautista throughout the two practice sessions on Friday for the Argentina World Superbike round.

Razgatlioglu ended the day as the best rider at Circuito San Juan Villicum despite trailing Ducati’s Bautista in the standings by 56 points heading into the weekend. He set a time of 1m37.511s with 15 minutes left in FP1.

His record-breaking time was more than a tenth faster than the lap he recorded on the pole in 2021, and it put him barely two tenths ahead of Rea, riding the factory Kawasaki, who was his closest rival. Bautista was in third place, a similar distance behind.

Even though Rea won the session, both Rea and Bautista were able to surpass their respective FP1 timings in the afternoon. However, neither rider could match Razgatlioglu’s benchmark, and they were forced to settle for second and third place in the overall standings.

Alex Lowes of Kawasaki earned the title of “best of the rest” rider on Friday after narrowly beating Andrea Locatelli of Yamaha to finish fourth overall with a time of 1m38.068s posted in FP2. Despite the fact that Axel Bassani’s best time in FP1 of 1m38.443s was about a second slower than Razgatlioglu’s, he was still ranked sixth and the highest independent rider on the Motocorsa Ducati.

Iker Lecuona placed Honda seventh in the combined order after failing to improve upon his FP2 pace, and Scott Redding just edged his teammate Michael van der Linde to place as the top BMW rider in the classification in eighth.

Loris Baz, riding a satellite Bonovo BMW, followed them closely, while Garrett Gerloff, on a GRT Yamaha, wasn’t too far behind in eleventh place.

Maximilian Scheib, who was called in at the last minute to replace Hafizh Syahrin after he sustained an injury while preparing for a bicycle road race, finished 21st in both sessions on his WSBK comeback.


1Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK1:37.707s
2Toprak RazgatliogluTURPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK+0.071s
3Alvaro BautistaSPAAruba.It Racing Ducati+0.279s
4Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+0.361s
5Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+0.741s
6Iker LecuonaSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+0.819s
7Michael Van Der MarkSPABMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+0.894s
8Andrea LocatelliITAPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK+0.899s
9Loris BazFRABonovo Action BMW+0.973s
10Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team+0.994s
11Scott ReddingGBRBMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+1.039s
12Michael RinaldiITAAruba.It Racing Ducati+1.105s
13Xavi ViergeSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+1.226s
14Eugene LavertyIRLBonovo Action BMW+1.389s
15Philipp OettlGERGoEleven Ducati+1.698s
16Lucas MahiasFRAPuccetti Kawasaki+1.704s
17Xavi ForesSPABarni Spark Ducati Team+1.724s
18Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha+1.778s
19Leandro MercadoARGMIE Honda Racing+2.122s
20Oliver KonigCZEOrelac Racing Kawasaki+2.270s
21Maximilian ScheibGERMIE Honda Racing+3.403s
22Marco SolorzaARGPedercini Kawasaki+4.792s

Leave a Reply