Thu. Oct 21st, 2021

Max Verstappen extended his lead in the drivers championship by taking his fifth win of the season in the Austrian Grand Prix.

He bolstered his championship lead on a difficult day for rival Lewis Hamilton, who came in fourth after losing time with damage.
The pair were separated by Valtteri Bottas, who Hamilton allowed by into second place on lap 52, and Lando Norris, who claimed a podium finish after an eventful race which included a five-second time penalty.

Norris was sanctioned for an incident with Sergio Perez on the third lap of the race which sent the Red Bull driver into the gravel trap at turn four. Norris served his penalty at his pit stop, and finished the race with Bottas in his sights.

Perez later collected a pair of identical penalties for similar incidents involving Charles Leclerc. Although he took the chequered flag in fifth, his two five-second penalties dropped him behind Carlos Sainz Jnr, who Leclerc waved past earlier in the race.

Daniel Ricciardo added to McLaren’s points haul in seventh ahead of Leclerc. Pierre Gasly pitted twice on his way to ninth, while Fernando Alonso denied George Russell a point by passing the Williams driver with three laps to go.
Yuki Tsunoda fell foul of the stewards twice on his way to 12th place, picking up a pair of penalties for cutting the pit lane entry line. Lance Stroll and Antonio Giovinazzi behind him also collected penalties for other infringements on a busy afternoon for the stewards.

The day’s only retirement was Esteban Ocon, who suffered front-right damage at turn three on the first lap, retiring on the spot.


1Max VerstappenNEDRed Bull Racing71 LAPS
2Valtteri BottasFINMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team+ 17.973s
3Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team+ 20.019s
4Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team+ 46.452s
5Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow+ 57.144s
6Sergio PerezMEXRed Bull Racing+ 57.915s
7Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren F1 Team+ 1:00.395s
8Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow+ 1:01.195s
9Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri Honda+ 101.844s
10Fernando AlonsoESPAlpine F1 Team+ 1 Lap
11George RussellGBRWilliams Racing+ 1 Lap
12Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri Honda+ 1 Lap
13Lance StrollCANAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team+ 1 Lap
14Antonio GiovinazziITAAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen+ 1 Lap
15Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing+ 1 Lap
16Kimi RaikkonenFINAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen+ 1 Lap
17Sebastian VettelGERAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team+ 1 Lap
18Mick SchumacherGERUralkali Haas F1 Team+ 2 Laps
19Nikita MazepinRUSUralkali Haas F1 Team+ 2 Laps
DNFEsteban OconFRAAlpine F1 TeamDNF

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)