Updated starting grid for Monaco Grand Prix after Haas disqualification

Updated starting grid for Monaco Grand Prix after Haas disqualification

The FIA disqualified Haas duo Kevin Magnussen and Nico Hulkenberg from qualifying which resulted in a change to the starting grid for the Monaco Grand Prix.

Both Haas F1 drivers Nico Hulkenberg and Kevin Magnussen, were disqualified from the qualifying results following a technical issue with their Drag Reduction System (DRS), which dealt a serious blow to the team ahead of the Monaco Grand Prix.

The cars’ initial starting positions were invalidated when FIA Technical Delegate Jo Bauer found that the DRS flaps on both cars were wider than the allowed 85mm opening.

An unintended mistake in adjusting the wing flap gap in accordance with the revised standards was the cause of this non-compliance, which was linked to the team’s recent modification made to the wing design.

The car’s rear wing element’s movable positions were the source of the technical violation, which broke Article 3.10.10 h of the Technical Regulations. The team clarified that the mechanics’ improper training in accurately setting the gap was the reason for the non-compliance with the new wing design, which was used for the first time in Monaco.

The FIA stressed the significance of strict compliance to regulations, despite the fact the team claimed that the error did not provide any performance advantage. Magnussen and Hulkenberg will therefore both start the Monaco Grand Prix from the rear of the starting grid.

Hulkenberg was slated to start from the 12th position on the grid, while Magnussen was supposed to start from the fifteenth position. As a result, Fernando Alonso, Logan Sargeant, Sergio Perez, Valtteri Bottas, and Zhou Guanyu will move up two positions while Daniel Ricciardo and Lance Stroll will gain one.

2024 F1 Monaco Grand Prix starting grid

1stCharles LeclercFerrari
2ndOscar PiastriMcLaren
3rdCarlos SainzFerrari
4thLando NorrisMcLaren
5thGeorge RussellMercedes
6thMax VerstappenRed Bull
7thLewis HamiltonMercedes
8thYuki TsunodaRB
9thAlex AlbonWilliams
10thPierre GaslyAlpine
11thEsteban OconAlpine
12thDaniel RicciardoRB
13thLance StrollAston Martin
14thFernando AlonsoAston Martin
15thLogan SargeantWilliams
16thSergio PerezRed Bull
17thValtteri BottasStake
18thZhou GuanyuStake
PIT LANENico HulkenbergHaas
PIT LANEKevin MagnussenHaas

Leave a Reply