During the Miami Grand Prix, Daniel Ricciardo was given a five-second time penalty for leaving the track and obtaining an advantage.

The stewards determined that the McLaren driver cut the course at turn 12, allowing him to maintain his lead over Kevin Magnussen.

The stewards determined after reviewing video of the incident that: “Although car three [Ricciardo] was in front of car 20 [Magnussen] going into turn 12, it was only able to retain that position by leaving the track and returning to it alongside car 20 then used its speed to pull ahead.”

Ricciardo was originally placed 11th in the race and Lance Stroll and Yuki Tsunoda were promoted as a result of his penalty. A penalty point was also added to the McLaren driver’s licence, bringing his total to two for the current 12-month term.

Magnussen was also given a five-second time penalty after the stewards determined that he was to blame for a collision with Lance Stroll.

“Car 18 [Stroll] was ahead going into turn 11 and car 20 [Magnussen] made contact forcing car 18 off the track. The driver of car 20 was wholly to blame for the collision,” the stewards ruled.

Magnussen’s result was unaffected by the time penalty because he retired from the race in the pits. For his part in the incident, the Haas driver received his first two penalty points of the season.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: