Razgatlioglu tops first practice for Dutch WorldSBK in Assen

Razgatlioglu tops first practice for Dutch WorldSBK in Assen

Toprak Razgatlioglu topped the first free practice at Assen as the 2024 Dutch WorldSBK kicked off in the Netherlands.

The 2022 WorldSBK champion topped the timesheets with a lap time of 1m35.684s on the ROKiT BMW M 1000 RR, almost three-tenths of a second faster than Alex Lowes on the factory Kawasaki.

The two-time Phillip Island race winner placed ahead of reigning WorldSBK champion Alvaro Bautista on the Aruba.it Racing Ducati although he was over 0.5 seconds slower than his BMW rival’s benchmark.

Meanwhile, GYTR GRT Yamaha’s Remy Gardner made it four different manufacturers in the top four. The Australian was only six-thousandths of a second ahead of Jonathan Rea on the factory Pata PROMETEON Yamaha R1, with the Ulsterman making a solid start for the weekend following a dismal start to the season.

In what is effectively the Belgian team’s home race, Garrett Gerloff led home fellow BMW rider Michael van der Mark to finish sixth and seventh place, respectively, with Marc VDS Racing Ducati’s Sam Lowes coming in eighth.

Fellow rookie Andrea Iannone was ninth fastest on the Team Go Eleven Ducati while Nicolo Bulega rounded out the top 10 on the second factory Ducati.

Scott Redding came home with the 18th fastest lap time while Bradley Ray, who debuted in the WorldSBK with Motoxracing Yamaha last year placed 20th. Tarran Mackenzie trailed WorldSBK rookie Nicholas Spinelli by a narrow margin in 22nd on the Barni Spark Racing Ducati.

2024 Dutch WorldSBK Assen Free Practice 1 Results

Pos.RiderNat.TeamMotorcycleLap Time
1Toprak Razgatlioglu🇹🇷ROKiT BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR1m 35.684
2Alex Lowes🇬🇧Kawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 35.974
3Alvaro Bautista🇪🇦Aruba RacingDucati Panigale V4 R1m 36.271
4Remy Gardner🇦🇺GYTR GRTYamaha R11m 36.282
5Jonathan Rea🇬🇧Pata PROMOTEONYamaha R11m 36.288
6Garrett Gerloff🇺🇲Bonovo Action RacingBMW M 1000 RR1m 36.386
7Michael van der Mark🇳🇱ROKiT BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR1m 36.405
8Sam Lowes🇬🇧Elf Marc VDS RacingDucati Panigale V4 R1m 36.532
9Andrea Iannone🇮🇹Team Go ElevenDucati Panigale V4 R1m 36.535
10Nicolo Bulega🇮🇹Aruba RacingDucati Panigale V4 R1m 36.558
11Dominique Aegerter🇨🇭GYTR GRTYamaha R11m 36.602
12Xavi Vierge🇪🇦Team HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 36.897
13Michael Ruben Rinaldi🇮🇹Motocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R1m 36.939
14Philipp Oettl🇩🇪GMT 94Yamaha R11m 37.014
15Iker Lecuona🇪🇦Team HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 37.110
16Tito Rabat🇪🇦Puccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 37.214
17Andrea Locatelli🇮🇹Pata PROMOTEONYamaha R11m 37.227
18Scott Redding🇬🇧Bonovo Action RacingBMW M 1000 RR1m 37.307
19Axel Bassani🇮🇹Kawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 37.554
20Bradley Ray🇬🇧MotoxracingYamaha R11m 37.826
21Nicholas Spinelli🇮🇹Barni Spark RacingDucati Panigale V4 R1m 38.077
22Tarran Mackenzie🇬🇧Petronas MIE RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 38.089
23Adam Norrodin🇲🇾Petronas MIE RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 40.150

Leave a Reply