Leclerc dominates in the second practice of Monaco Grand Prix

Leclerc dominates in the second practice of Monaco Grand Prix

Following on from his performance in the first session of the day, Charles Leclerc secured P1 on the timesheets during Free Practice 2 at the Monaco Grand Prix.

In a session that was disrupted by a red flag owing to a crash for Daniel Ricciardo, Charles Leclerc topped the timesheets during Free Practice 2 at the Monaco Grand Prix, while others had narrow escapes.

On the Soft tyre, Leclerc set the mark with a timing of 1:12.656, while teammate Carlos Sainz was a tenth of a second back in P2. Sergio Perez finished third, ahead of his Red Bull teammate Max Verstappen, who finished fourth.

Lando Norris, who is still recovering from tonsillitis, rounded out a good day by finishing fifth, but McLaren teammate Daniel Ricciardo had a horrible session.

Ricciardo’s first push lap, a fourth of the way through the session, brought out the red flags after a significant crash.

The McLaren driver lost control of his McLaren MCL36 as he exited Piscine and slammed into the barriers, before continuing on to a smaller secondary incident at the next turn. However, he was unharmed in the accident, but it forced the practise to be stopped and ruled him out for the rest of the race.

After a positive weekend in Spain, Mercedes received a harsher reality check in Monaco on Friday. In sixth place, George Russell was three-quarters of a second behind Leclerc, while Lewis Hamilton was down in 12th after a sloppy session.

Both AlphaTauri drivers were in the top ten, with Pierre Gasly seventh and Yuki Tsunoda tenth, while Fernando Alonso and Sebastian Vettel were eighth and ninth for Alpine and Aston Martin, respectively.

Haas and Alfa Romeo were two of the teams that had a low-key day.  Kevin Magnussen finished 11th, Mick Schumacher 17th. Meanwhile, Alfa Romeo duo Valtteri Bottas and Zhou Guanyu finished 13th and15th respectively.

2022 Monaco Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 results

1Charles LeclercFerrari1:12.656s29
2Carlos SainzFerrari1:12.700s+ 0.044s31
3Sergio PérezRed Bull1:13.035s+ 0.379s30
4Max VerstappenRed Bull1:13.103s+ 0.447s32
5Lando NorrisMcLaren1:13.294s+ 0.638s24
6George RussellMercedes1:13.406s+ 0.750s30
7Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri1:13.636s+ 0.980s31
8Fernando AlonsoAlpine1:13.912s+ 1.256s30
9Sebastian VettelAston Martin1:14.059s+ 1.403s31
10Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri1:14.134s+ 1.478s26
11Kevin MagnussenHaas1:14.239s+ 1.583s31
12Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:14.267s+ 1.611s28
13Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo1:14.468s+ 1.812s27
14Alexander AlbonWilliams1:14.486s+ 1.830s32
15Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo1:14.525s+ 1.869s22
16Lance StrollAston Martin1:14.623s+ 1.967s28
17Mick SchumacherHaas1:14.894s+ 2.238s32
18Esteban OconAlpine1:15.216s+ 2.560s33
19Nicholas LatifiWilliams1:16.276s+ 3.620s32
20Daniel RicciardoMcLaren2

Leave a Reply