Johann Zarco tops wet Emilia Romagna MotoGP FP1

Johann Zarco tops wet Emilia Romagna MotoGP FP1

Pramac Ducati rider Johann Zarco returns to the top by leading a wet opening practice session for MotoGP’s return to Misano at the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, while fellow Ducati rider and title contender Francesco Bagnaia suffered a late fall.

Factory Ducati’s Jack Miller led for the majority of the session ahead of factory team-mate Bagnaia, with Zarco moving to the top with seven minutes remaining.

Zarco, who has struggled to repeat his early season podium run and recently underwent arm pump surgery, improved his time further to pull a big 1.4s clear of nearest rival Marc Marquez, who popped ahead of Miller on his final lap.

Late improvements also moved Jorge Martin and Franco Morbidelli to fourth and fifth, ahead of Bagnaia, who had lowsided at the end of the back straight.

World championship leader Fabio Quartararo may have stayed upright but the Frenchman’s Yamaha again looked twitchy in the wet on his way to 18th place, 3.1s behind Zarco.

Quartararo has his first chance to win the MotoGP title this weekend, providing he can keep his 52-point lead over Bagnaia to at least 50-points on Sunday.

There were early accidents for Alex Marquez and Brad Binder, plus a technical issue in the pits for Aleix Espargaro, who had been fastest at the Misano post-race test.

Local hero Valentino Rossi is competing in his final Italian round before retirement.

Bagnaia won last month’s first Misano round, ahead of Quartararo and Enea Bastianini.

The tyre allocation will be the same for this weekend, but temperatures are cooler and more rain is expected throughout Friday.


1Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)1’42.374s19/19295k
2Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+1.417s20/20291k
3Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)+1.625s6/15292k
4Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+1.667s19/19293k
5Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.680s13/13283k
6Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)+1.809s17/17290k
7Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.869s20/20289k
8Danolo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+1.950s17/17286k
9Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+2.031s16/18283k
10Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+2.139s16/18289k
11Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*+2.201s15/17288k
12Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+2.377s14/14284k
13Michele PirroITADucati Team (GP21)+2.514s13/13285k
14Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+2.637s18/18289k
15Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+2.830s19/19289k
16Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+2.847s18/20288k
17Maverick VinalesSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+3.071s16/19293k
18Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+3.103s20/20283k
19Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+3.282s15/15288k
20Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Ducati (GP19)*+3.479s13/15286k
21Andrea DoviziosoITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+3.507s16/16284k
22Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+3.672s18/18287k
23Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+3.778s14/14278k
24Lorenzo SalvadoriITAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)*+4.592s5/12282k

Leave a Reply