Van der Zande tops night practice for Chip Ganassi

Van der Zande tops night practice for Chip Ganassi

Renger van der Zande topped in Thursday night’s practice for the Twelve Hours of Sebring aboard the #01 Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac V-Series.R.

Late in the practice, Van der Zande blasted to the top of the time charts with a 1:49.179 lap aboard the #01 Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac V-Series.R, overcoming Augusto Farfus’s No. 24 Team RLL BMW M Hybrid V8 by 0.258 seconds.

Filipe Albuquerque finished third in the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti Acura ARX-06 while Tom Blomqvist finished fourth in the No. 31 Action Express Racing Cadillac and Mathieu Jaminet rounded out the top five in the No. 6 Penske Porsche 963.

The #63 Lamborghini Iron Lynx SC63 clocked the eighth-fastest time under Andrea Caldarelli’s control.

The No. 40 Acura ARX-06 for Wayne Taylor Racing was the only GTP participant who did not complete any laps during the session following an engine change.

The #11 TDS Racing ORECA 07-Gibson led the LMP2 field as Practice 1 leader Mikkel Jensen led the way with a time of 1:51.497, ahead of Paul-Loup Chatin’s #99 AO Racing ORECA dubbed “Spike the LMP2 Dragon.”

Third place went to Ben Hanley in the purple #2 United Autosports USA ORECA.

Unfortunately, night practice was cut short by a late incident around the Sunset Bend. Colin Braun, driving the #04 CrowdStrike Racing by APR ORECA, lost control of his car and went tail-first into the tyre barriers after trying to steer clear of the traffic ahead of him. Braun withdrew from the session which was red-flagged with just under four minutes remaining.

The other two red flags in this session were also triggered by LMP2 cars although they were minor. The #33 Sean Creech Motorsports Ligier JS P217 stopped very early at turn eight, but later recovered.

The #52 Inter Europol by PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA scattered what looked to be sand along the racing line at Big Bend (turn six) after a run off-track.

The #4 Pratt Miller Motorsports Chevrolet Corvette Z06 GT3.R was the fastest in GTD Pro as Earl Bamber recorded a time of 2:00.790 while driving the gold-foil ‘Vette.

Young BMW driver Neil Verhagen finished second in the #1 Paul Miller Racing M4 GT3, while Laurin Heinrich driving the #77 AO Racing Porsche 911 GT3 R finished third.

Ferrari Hypercar driver Antonio Fuoco led the class in GTD with a time of 2:00.991, driving the #47 Cetilar Racing 296 GT3.

Daytona 24 Hour class winner Philip Ellis finished second in the #57 Winward Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3, while Elliott Skeer in the #120 Wright Motorsports Porsche finished third in the class.

Qualifying for the Twelve Hours of Sebring is set to get underway Friday at 12:50 p.m. EDT with live coverage on Peacock and

Leave a Reply