Nick Cassidy wins Diriyah E-Prix Race 2

Nick Cassidy wins Diriyah E-Prix Race 2

Jaguar driver Nick Cassidy now leads the drivers’ championship after winning the Diriyah E-Prix on Saturday.

Nick Cassidy secured his first triumph of Season 10 with a commanding victory in Saturday’s Diriyah E-Prix race, and became the only driver to finish on the podium in all three of this season’s ABB FIA Formula E World Championship races.

Starting the race in third place, Cassidy kept up the pace behind the leading Oliver Rowland (Nissan Formula E Team) who had started in Julius Bär Pole Position and Robin Frijns (Envision Racing). Cassidy took the lead thanks to his clever strategy after successfully navigating through the first round of ATTACK MODE activations.

After taking the lead, Cassidy maintained a 2.5-second advantage by skillfully executing his second crucial 50kW ATTACK MODE boost. Cassidy held onto his lead and crossed the finish line confidently, despite the fact Frijns and Rowland were pursuing him hard and were now less than a second behind.

Frijns made his podium comeback with his second-place performance after missing the last two seasons with his last appearance being New York City. Rowland finished in third place, marking his first podium result since Season 8’s Seoul round.

Remarkably, NEOM McLaren’s Jake Hughes replicated his teammate’s performance from Round 2 at the same venue by taking a career-best fourth position. DS PENSKE’s Stoffel Vandoorne maintained his strong performance in Diriyah finishing fifth.

Nissan’s Sacha Fenestraz, TAG Heuer Porsche’s Pascal Wehrlein and double champion Jean-Éric Vergne of DS PENSKE all put up strong performances in the race with Wehrlein’s run of victories reaching an unprecedented 14 races.

Reigning champion Jake Dennis of Andretti was penalized for overtaking during a yellow flag, that cost him five seconds in the penalty box after finishing in a disappointing tenth place.

With the win, Cassidy extends his lead in the Drivers’ World Championship to eighteen points, while Jaguar TCS Racing secures a commanding lead in the Teams’ standings.

Round 4 of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship takes place in Sao Paulo on March 16–17, when the electrifying action resumes.

Formula E Diriyah E-Prix 2023 race two results

137Nick CassidyJaguarJaguar I-Type 6
24Robin FrijnsEnvisionJaguar I-Type 6
322Oliver RowlandMcLarenNissan e-4ORCE 04
45Jake HughesMcLarenNissan e-4ORCE 04
52Stoffel VandoorneDS PenskeDS E-TENSE FE23
623Sacha FenestrazNissanNissan e-4ORCE 04
794Pascal WehrleinPorschePorsche 99X Electric Gen3
825Jean-Eric VergneDS PenskeDS E-TENSE FE23
97Maximilian GuentherMaseratiMaserati Tipo Folgore
101Jake DennisAndrettiPorsche 99X Electric Gen3
119Mitch EvansJaguarJaguar I-Type 6
1248Edoardo MortaraMahindaMahindra M10Electro
1351Nico MuellerAbt CupraMahindra M10Electro
1413Antonio Felix da CostaPorschePorsche 99X Electric Gen3
1521Nyck de VriesMahindaMahindra M10Electro
1617Norman NatoAndrettiPorsche 99X Electric Gen3
173Sergio Sette CamaraERTERT X24
1811Lucas di GrassiAbt CupraMahindra M9Electro
1933Dan TicktumERTERT X24
2018Jehan DaruvalaMaseratiMaserati Tipo Folgore
218Sam BirdMcLarenNissan e-4ORCE 04
2223Sacha FenestrazNissanNissan e-4ORCE 04

Leave a Reply