Lewis Hamilton wins 11th Hawthorn trophy

Lewis Hamilton wins 11th Hawthorn trophy

Seven-time Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton won the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for the 11th time in his 15-year career.

Each year, the coveted honor is given to the best successful Commonwealth driver in the Formula One world championship. The award is named after Mike Hawthorn, Britain’s first world champion, who died three months after winning the title in a car accident.

Despite missing out on a record-breaking eighth world title to Red Bull’s Max Verstappen, Hamilton has won the trophy for the eighth year in a row.

Hamilton won eight races in 2021, but his title was decided in very controversial circumstances at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix season finale, when FIA race director Michael Masi failed to apply the rules correctly during a late Safety Car period.

Hamilton was named the winner at the Royal Automobile Club in London during Motorsport Uk’s ‘Night of Champions,’ adding to his prior victories.

Hamilton has only lost out on the accolade three times: in 2009 and 2011, when former McLaren teammate Jenson Button won, and in 2010 and 2013, when Mark Webber won. On the all-time winners list, Hamilton is four wins ahead of Nigel Mansell.

Lando Norris and George Russell of the United Kingdom, Australian Daniel Ricciardo, and Canadians Lance Stroll and Nicholas Latifi were among the other Commonwealth drivers in the 2021 Formula One grid.

Leave a Reply