German MotoGP Race Results after post-race time penalties

German MotoGP Race Results after post-race time penalties

Three riders were slapped with post-race time penalties for breaching tyre pressure regulations at Sachsenring, changing the German MotoGP race results.

Augusto Fernandez, Johann Zarco, and Stefan Bradl all received post-race time penalties for failing to meet the minimum tyre pressure in Sunday’s German MotoGP.

Similar to Marc Márquez’s situation last week in Assen, these three riders had 16 seconds added to their final race times, impacting their standings and even in the point-scoring positions.

Tech3 KTM’s Fernandez originally finished 14th, but the 16-second penalty dropped him to 16th, promoting LCR’s Takaaki Nakagami to 14th and factory stablemate Luca Marini to 15th, earning the last point.

LCR Honda’s Zarco could benefit from that penalty to Fernandez, but he also faced a 16-second penalty and thus remained in his 17th place. Repsol Honda’s Stefan Bradl, who finished 18th on track, was relegated to 20th and last among those who completed the race.

It’s important to note that riders must maintain the tyre pressure at or above the minimum stipulated value (1.8 bar) for at least 60% of the race – which, for the German GP, equates to 18 laps.

2024 German MotoGP Race Results, Sachsenring

1Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP24)40m 40.063s
2Marc MarquezSPAGresini Ducati (GP23)+3.804s
3Alex MarquezSPAGresini Ducati (GP23)+4.334s
4Enea BastianiniITADucati Lenovo (GP24)+5.317s
5Franco MorbidelliITAPramac Ducati (GP24)+5.557s
6Miguel OliveiraPORTrackhouse Aprilia (RS-GP24)+10.481s
7Pedro AcostaSPARed Bull GASGAS Tech3 (RC16)*+14.746s
8Marco BezzecchiITAVR46 Ducati (GP23)+14.930s
9Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+15.084s
10Raul FernandezSPATrackhouse Aprilia (RS-GP23)+16.384s
11Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+17.235s
12Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP24)+18.865s
13Jack MillerAUSRed Bull KTM (RC16)+25.425s
14Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+25.817s
15Luca MariniITARepsol Honda (RC213V)+25.854s
16Augusto FernandezSPARed Bull GASGAS Tech3 (RC16)+41.495s
17Johann ZarcoFRALCR Honda (RC213V)+41.952s
18Joan MirSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+43.145s
19Remy GardnerAUSMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+50.115s
20Stefan BradlGERHRC Test Team (RC213V)+59.047s
 Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP24)DNF
 Fabio Di GiannantonioITAVR46 Ducati (GP23)DNF

Leave a Reply