The FIA has revealed the full and final entry list for the 2020/21 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, with little over a month to go until Season 7 gets underway with a double-header in Chile, January 16-17.

The grid at the Santiago season-opener will comprise the same 24 world-class drivers and 12 top-tier teams that took to the race track at Valencia’s Circuit Ricardo Tormo for the official pre-season test earlier this month. There, the field was separated by just over half-a-second, suggesting we’re in for the most closely-contested Formula E campaign to-date – in its first season as an FIA World Championship.

DS TECHEETAH once again fields defending champion Antonio Felix da Costa and two-time title-winner Jean-Eric Vergne, with Nissan e.dams similarly maintaining an unchanged line-up of 2015/16 champion Sebastien Buemi and teammate Oliver Rowland.

It is much the same story at Mercedes-Benz EQ, where Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries return for a second consecutive campaign, while newcomer Nick Cassidy joins Robin Frijns at Envision Virgin Racing.

Rookie Jake Dennis joins Maximilian Guenther at BMW i Andretti Motorsport, with 2016/17 champion Lucas Di Grassi again partnered by Rene Rast at Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler.

Sam Bird and Mitch Evans will team up at Jaguar Racing, as Pascal Wehrlein rejoins the championship with Porsche, alongside countryman Andre Lotterer.

Mahindra Racing has an all-British line-up for 2020/21, with Alexander Sims partnering Alex Lynn, while Edoardo Mortara and new addition Norman Nato represent ROKiT Venturi Racing.

DRAGON / PENSKE AUTOSPORT will run Nico Mueller and Sergio Sette Camara, as Oliver Turvey and Tom Blomqvist form another all-British partnership at NIO 333.

The 2020/21 campaign – Formula E’s first as an FIA World Championship – will get underway on 16-17 January, with a double-header curtain-raiser in Chile for the Santiago E-Prix.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: