Bagnaia tops Portimao FP2

Bagnaia tops Portimao FP2

Bagnaia fastest for Ducati during Free Practice 2 for the Portimao MotoGP round in Portugal.

Due to the wet patches in FP1, all riders set their best lap times of the day in the afternoon, despite light rain just before the start of the session. Better weather is expected for Saturday and Sunday.

At one stage all six manufacturers were in the top six heading into the closing minutes.

Eight-time world champion Marc Marquez – sidelined for the past nine months due to complications with his broken right arm, which eventually required three operations – was soon up to speed, leading the timesheets on his way to third quickest this morning.

The Repsol Honda rider then took a late sixth place (as top Honda) in the faster FP2 session and was again all smiles afterwards despite – or because of – some sideways moments. Marquez hadn’t ridden a MotoGP bike at Portimao before today, but did test an RC213V-S production bike at the track last month.

Nakagami had a fast accident in the opening minutes when he appeared to lock the front wheel over the crest into Turn 1, the Japanese was clipped by the bike as he slid and walked away holding his right wrist. After checks in the medical centre, the Japanese returned for the closing ten minutes and grabbed a late tenth place!

Zarco’s bike had a minor fire during his practice start.

1^5Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)1’39.866s16/18342k
2^5Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.340s19/19329k
3^10Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.419s15/18330k
4˅2Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.462s18/19336k
5^3Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)+0.470s14/17340k
6˅3Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.473s18/18333k
7˅6Maverick VinalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.560s19/20329k
8˅3Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)+0.624s19/19340k
9^8Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.726s16/18333k
10^2Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.745s8/8332k
11˅2Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+0.866s18/18336k
12˅8Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.877s15/18335k
13^5Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*+0.895s18/18331k
14^7Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.041s13/16333k
15˅4Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.259s17/19330k
16˅1Lorenzo SalvadoriITAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)*+1.274s16/19339k
17^5Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.317s15/18338k
18˅8Danilo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+1.321s16/19328k
19˅5Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.350s21/21331k
20=Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Ducati (GP19)*+1.970s13/16335k
21˅2Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+2.595s16/18330k
22˅6Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+3.055s18/18339k

Leave a Reply