Aleix Espargaro makes history after claiming maiden pole for Aprilia

Aleix Espargaro makes history after claiming maiden pole for Aprilia

After a thrilling battle with Jorge Martin in Argentina, Aleix Espargaro claimed Aprilia’s first-ever MotoGP pole.

All eyes were on Espargaro heading into a session that promised so much after he dominated Argentina MotoGP practice.

Following the initial flurry of laps, Espargaro moved top by over three tenths, securing Aprilia’s first-ever MotoGP pole.

Joan Mir’s bike had to have its tyres removed and transferred to his second GSX-RR machine, which caused immediate complications for Suzuki.

The problem was the bike cutting out, which was quickly resolved.

On the track, Vinales briefly took the lead until Martin established a new time of 1:34.425s. Espargaro, on the other hand, quickly surpassed the Pramac Ducati rider’s effort with a spectacular time of 1:38.125s.

While Espargaro posted an unbreakable time, Jack Miller became the latest crasher after a front-end washout at turn one.

After the Ducati rider was observed touring on the racing line over the final flying laps, additional handbags erupted between Quartararo and Miller.

Tensions between the two will undoubtedly be high coming into tomorrow’s race after their incident during the Indonesian Grand Prix.

Due to the fact that it cost Quartararo dearly on his lap and nearly ended in collision, Miller is likely to receive a penalty.

Following a great sector four, Martin, who had three personal best sectors, took over at the front. The Spaniard improved by over three tenths to win by -0.256s, but Espargaro fought back quickly, as he had done all day.

While grip appeared to be good throughout the Termas de Rio Hondo Circuit, riders struggled with bike wobbling on the exit of turn 11, which was evident again during qualifying.

Luca Marini of Mooney VR46 Ducati finished third in his maiden Q2 appearance of the season, matching his best ever MotoGP qualifying result of third.

Pol Espargaro, who, like Marini, waited until the last possible moment to set his best time, starts from the second row, and Maverick Vinales, riding the second Aprilia RS-GP, is fifth. Fabio Quartararo, the defending world champion, completes the second row.

Qualifying began for the second weekend in a row with factory Ducati rider Francesco Bagnaia having to go through Q1.

Enea Bastianini, the championship leader who has struggled in his debut premier class appearance at Termas, joined the Italian, as did Mandalika race winner Miguel Oliveira, FP1 pacesetter Takaaki Nakagami, and impressive newcomer Marco Bezzecchi.

Bagnaia, who had been flustered at the conclusion of FP2, began Q1 in a same manner, returning to pit lane without setting a representative lap.

Running wide and bike shaking were becoming more and more of a problem for the Ducati rider, who seemed like a shell of the Bagnaia we saw over the final few races of 2021.

Bagnaia, like all great champions, was able to maintain his composure, refocus, and then record a blazing time of 1:38.610s to win by three tenths of a second. However, Nakagami and Pol Espargaro, who finished first and second for Honda, had more to give.

Bagnaia had one last chance to break Honda’s hearts, but the runner-up in the 2021 championship was unable to do so as Nakagami and Espargaro advanced. As a result, Bastianini was also unable to advance. P13 and P14 will be the starting positions for the two Ducati riders.


1Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)1’37.688s5/6334k
2Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.151s5/6334k
3Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+0.431s6/7331k
4Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.477s2/3334k
5Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.508s6/7337k
6Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.593s6/7333k
7Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.767s7/8337k
8Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.828s6/7336k
9Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.849s7/8336k
10Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.888s5/7334k
11Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.896s2/5337k
11Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.244s8/8334k
 Qualifying 1:     
12Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)1’38.566s7/8340k
13Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)1’38.61s5/7333k
14Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)Penalty  
15Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)1’38.805s7/8328k
16Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)1’38.871s7/8329k
17Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*1’38.877s6/8335k
18Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)1’38.938s6/8331k
19Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)1’39.095s8/8334k
20Fabio Di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP21)*1’39.126s6/8333k
21Raul FernandezSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)*1’39.153s7/7334k
22Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*1’39.159s7/7332k
23Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*1’39.38s7/7334k
24Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)1’39.487s6/7334k

* Rookie

Leave a Reply