Which drivers are locked into the 2022 NASCAR Cup playoffs?

Which drivers are locked into the 2022 NASCAR Cup playoffs?

The Coke Zero Sugar 400 at Daytona International Speedway on Sunday determined the 16-driver field for the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs.

After a wild, wet, and chaotic regular-season finale at Daytona International Speedway, we now know which 16 drivers have secured their spots in the postseason.

Prior to the race, 14 drivers were locked in, but Ryan Blaney and Martin Truex Jr. were both in a vulnerable position to lose their playoff spots. With 25 points separating the two drivers and the possibility of a new winner looming, they knew they would have to battle from the moment the green flag fell.

However, the tables turned when Blaney was involved in a crash at the conclusion of the first stage. Truex performed well to close the gap by winning 15 stage points and closing the distance to his playoff opponent’s 10 points. Then, on the backstretch, Truex was engaged in a crash.

Truex was making a valiant effort to maintain his point lead over Blaney as the race progressed when mayhem erupted. The majority of the field crashed when the pack hit the wet Daytona track. Austin Dillon was the one forcing his way through the pack to take the lead and when the race eventually resumed, Dillon managed to hold on and advance to the playoffs. Only three points separated Truex from Blaney in the final standings.

This year, five fresh faces are making their postseason debuts, leaving out two former series champions (Martin Truex Jr. and Brad Keselowski). Five former champions who want to add another championship to their resume are already locked in, along with one rookie.

All four of the drivers from Hendrick Motorsports are present, while Team Penske has locked in all three of its Fords. Both Trackhouse Racing and Richard Childress Racing have made an entry with two cars each.

Both Trackhouse Racing and Richard Childress Racing have made an entry with two cars each. Three of Joe Gibbs Racing’s four drivers are also present, but just two of Stewart Haas Racing’s four drivers are set for the playoffs.

For this year’s playoffs, there will be three Toyota drivers, five Ford drivers, and eight Chevrolet drivers.

1Chase ElliottHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet42040
2Joey LoganoTeam PenskeFord22025
3Ross ChastainTrackhouse RacingChevrolet22020
4Kyle LarsonHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet22019
5William ByronHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet22014
6Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs RacingToyota22013
7Ryan BlaneyTeam PenskeFord02013
8Tyler ReddickRichard Childress RacingChevrolet22012
9Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas RacingFord2 2012
10Christopher BellJoe Gibbs RacingToyota12011
11Kyle BuschJoe Gibbs RacingToyota12010
12Chase BriscoeStewart-Haas RacingFord12009
13Daniel SuarezTrackhouse RacingChevrolet12007
14Austin CindricTeam PenskeFord12006
15Alex BowmanHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet12006
16Austin DillonRichard Childress RacingChevrolet12005

Leave a Reply