Ty Gibbs wins Xfinity race at Atlanta after making a move during overtime

Ty Gibbs wins Xfinity race at Atlanta after making a move during overtime

Ty Gibbs won the Xfinity Series race at Atlanta Motor Speedway on Saturday night, passing Ryan Sieg on the final lap of double overtime.

After a tumultuous NASCAR Xfinity Series race at the newly reconfigured Atlanta Motor Speedway, Ty Gibbs has once again emerged victorious after taking the lead on the final lap marking his second win of the season and his sixth overall.

Austin Hill, the winner at Daytona, was second, followed by AJ Allmendinger, Riley Herbst, and Landon Cassill in that order. Mason Massey placed sixth, which was his highest finish of the season. In the previous 26 Xfinity races, he had finished 17th. Seventh place went to Brandon Jones. Kyle Weatherman tied for eighth place, which was a personal best for him.

Ty Gibbs, 19, has won numerous races in the NASCAR Xfinity Series, from his series debut to dominating a road circuit, and now to victory on a pseudo-superspeedway with a last-lap overtime move. Gibbs won his sixth Xfinity race of his career and his first at the newly redesigned Atlanta Motor Speedway thanks to a solid finish on the last lap.

Noah Gragson, who won last week in Phoenix and had one of his 2021 trips to Atlanta cut short due to a brawl with current Kaulig Racing Cup teammate Daniel Hemric, began on the pole and led until the competition caution.

On the restart, Gragson maintained his lead, but JR Motorsports teammate Josh Berry eventually won the stage; JRM drivers dominated the top four, with Gragson, Justin Allgaier, and Sam Mayer following. Trevor Bayne, Austin Hill, Jeb Burton, Brandon Brown, Brandon Jones, and Sheldon Creed finished second and third, respectively.

There were ten distinct race leaders and 11 separate changes at the front. Ten cautions, one red flag, and two overtime restarts slowed the race down.

Gragson’s race took a turn for the worst after he collided with the wall on lap 51, dropping him a lap behind the leaders. A.J. Allmendinger was in front of Hemric, Jade Buford, Tommy Joe Martins, Sage Karam, Creed, Brown, Hill, Trevor Bayne, and Jeb Burton at the finish of the stage.

Buford and Jeremy Clements were involved in the first wreck of the day on lap 105, which was followed by an accident that claimed Joe Graf Jr. and Hemric. Mayer was the first to spin on lap 128, followed by Creed, Berry, and Brown ten circuits later. On lap 152, the largest crash of the night occurred, resulting in the collection of twelve drivers on the frontstretch.

Under the next caution laps, Myatt Snider was the leader, but a shower of sparks knocked him off the pace at the restart, and he was bumped from behind by Herbst on the frontstretch, though he avoided contact with the field.

The incident ended in overtime, only for another caution to be issued after many drivers collided again, necessitating a twelve-minute cleanup red flag.

For the second overtime shot, Ryan Sieg and Hill were in the front row. Hill was leading at the time of the white flag, but as they entered turn one, Gibbs found a run on the inside and passed him for the lead and subsequently the victory. After winning in Las Vegas a fortnight ago, he is the first repeat winner of the 2022 Xfinity season.

Both NASCAR support races at Atlanta on Saturday ended with a Toyota driver completing a final-lap pass in the tri-oval for the win, thanks to the overtake. Gibbs’ opponent for the 2021 ARCA Menards Series championship, Corey Heim, made the similar move earlier in the day in the Camping World Truck Series race.

NASCAR Xfinity series Race results – Atlanta speedway

1454Ty GibbsJoe Gibbs RacingToyota172Running
21421Austin HillRichard Childress RacingChevrolet172Running
3716A.J. AllmendingerKaulig RacingChevrolet172Running
42498Riley HerbstStewart-Haas RacingFord172Running
51010Landon CassillKaulig RacingChevrolet172Running
62691Mason MasseyDGM RacingChevrolet172Running
7319Brandon JonesJoe Gibbs RacingToyota172Running
82892Kyle WeathermanDGM RacingChevrolet172Running
9132Sheldon CreedRichard Childress RacingChevrolet172Running
10939Ryan SiegRSS RacingFord172Running
112166J.J. YeleyMBM MotorsportsFord172Running
12326Ryan VargasJD MotorsportsChevrolet172Running
131926Jeffrey EarnhardtSam Hunt RacingToyota172Running
141602Brett MoffittOur MotorsportsChevrolet172Running
151227Jeb BurtonOur MotorsportsChevrolet172Running
162723Anthony AlfredoOur MotorsportsChevrolet172Running
173535Shane LeeEmerling-Gase MotorsportsToyota172Running
181168Brandon BrownBrandonbilt MotorsportsChevrolet172Running
191736Alex LabbéDGM RacingChevrolet172Running
203745Tommy Joe MartinsAlpha Prime RacingChevrolet172Running
21151Sam MayerJR MotorsportsChevrolet172Running
223678Josh WilliamsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet172Running
232307Joe Graf Jr.SS-Green Light RacingFord172Running
243128Kyle SiegRSS RacingFord172Running
252599Stefan ParsonsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet172Running
2619Noah GragsonJR MotorsportsChevrolet172Running
273834Jesse IwujiJesse Iwuji MotorsportsChevrolet172Running
28518Trevor BayneJoe Gibbs RacingToyota172Running
29204Bayley CurreyJD MotorsportsChevrolet172Running
302231Myatt SniderJordan Anderson RacingChevrolet171Running
31335Matt MillsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet165Accident
322944Sage KaramAlpha Prime RacingChevrolet154Accident
3328Josh BerryJR MotorsportsChevrolet153Accident
3467Justin AllgaierJR MotorsportsChevrolet152Accident
35811Daniel HemricKaulig RacingChevrolet113Accident
363438Loris Hezemans*RSS RacingToyota112Accident
371851Jeremy ClementsJeremy Clements RacingChevrolet106Accident
383048Jade BufordBig Machine Racing TeamChevrolet105Accident

Leave a Reply