Toyota reveals 2024 WRC driver lineup

Toyota reveals 2024 WRC driver lineup

Toyota Gazoo Racing has revealed its driver lineup for the 2024 WRC.

Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team announced its all-star driver lineup for the 2024 FIA World Rally Championship season. The team will be looking to win the manufacturers’, drivers’, and co-drivers’ titles once more.

The drivers for the current Manufacturer’s champions- Elfyn Evans, Takamoto Katsuta, Sébastien Ogier, and Kalle Rovanperä- remain unchanged for 2024 WRC.

But the big news for WRC 2024 is that Kalle Rovanperä, the current World Champion, will be downgrading to a part-time role. However, for the intention of returning full-time in 2025, Rovanperä has inked a new multi-year contract with the team.

At the age of 23, Kalle Rovanperä became the youngest driver to win consecutive WRC drivers’ titles this year. The part-time schedule will provide him a break from the demanding nature of contending for world championship titles and facilitate him to enjoy driving in a variety of driving disciplines, such as drifting, which will further improve his driving skills.

“There are many reasons behind this,” said the 23-year-old double WRC champion. “But the biggest reason is that I have been driving rally for already 15 years, which is quite a long time.

“The last seasons have been amazing, but also really demanding, both mentally and physically.”

Ogier will carry on with his 2022 routine of part-time WRC racing. Before dropping full-time racing, the eight-time world champion won his final two titles with TGR-WRT in 2020 and 2021. After winning in 2023 in Monte Carlo, Mexico, and Kenya, he is still a vital member of the team joined by co-driver Vincent Landais.

“I really like the relationship that I have with the whole team and for me there was never any doubt that I wanted to stay in TGR overalls,” Ogier said.

“I also really enjoy the balance that this kind of partial programme gives me, and next season should be pretty similar in that respect.”

The team is also thrilled to continue working with Elfyn Evans for a few more seasons. Evans has made a name for himself as a consistent championship contender since joining Toyota. In four years, he has finished as the championship runner-up a total of three times, including 2023 when he won rallies in Croatia, Finland and Japan.

Evans and co-driver Scott Martin are hoping to build on their success from this season and pursue their first world championship titles in 2024.

“I’m looking forward to heading into what will be my fifth consecutive year with the team,” Evans said.

“We’ve had some great successes together over the last four years and I’m excited to continue that story with Toyota Gazoo Racing.

“As always, the target will be to win, whether that’s in each rally or in the championship.”

Takamoto Katsuta will drive the GR Yaris Rally1 Hybrid together with co-driver Aaron Johnston for the entire season as part of the team’s lineup once more.

Katsuta who a graduate of the Toyota Gazoo Racing WRC Challenge Program, advanced to the team’s line-up in 2023 and helped the manufacturers win the championship with a strong podium result at Rally Finland.

“I learned a lot this year,” Katsuta said. “There were some rallies that were good for me and some that were not so good, but those have made me stronger and will hopefully help me in the future.

“Next year will be important to prove what I can do, and I will try to make it the best season of my career so far.

“A huge thank you to the team and everyone who has been supporting me.”

Leave a Reply