Full starting grid for 2024 Indy 500

Full starting grid for 2024 Indy 500

The full starting grid for the 108th edition of the Indy 500 which will be held on Sunday, May 26.

Scott McLaughlin of Team Penske will start from pole position after qualifying at a speed of 234.220 mph. The 30-year-old Kiwi will lead the 33-car field to the green flag in the 200-lap, 500-mile race, which will feature a three-wide rolling formation spanning eleven rows.

Will Power will start from the middle of the first row, followed by Josef Newgarden on the outside, marking the first Penske sweep since 1988.

Arrow McLaren’s Alexander Rossi will start from fourth after setting a speed of 233.090 mph, over a second off McLaughlin’s time. His teammate NASCAR star Kyle Larson landed an impressive fifth place at 232.846 mph.

Santino Ferrucci was the slowest of the pole contenders and will start from sixth after a loose effort resulting in 232.692mph – which was over a second away from P1.

At the other end of the order, 2022 Indy 500 winner Marcus Ericsson survived a Bump Day scare to scrape into this year’s field – with Dale Coyne Racing rookie Nolan Siegel ultimately bumped from the 33-car starting grid.

2024 Indy 500 full starting grid

1S. McLaughlin – TEAM PENSKE32’33.7017234.220
2W. Power – TEAM PENSKE12+0.19902’33.9007233.917
3J. Newgarden – TEAM PENSKE2+0.27092’33.9726233.808
4A. Rossi – ARROW MCLAREN7+0.74522’34.4469233.090
5K. Larson – ARROW MCLAREN/RICK HENDRICK17+0.90662’34.6083232.846
6S. Ferrucci – A.J. FOYT ENTERPRISES14+1.00932’34.7110232.692
7R. van Kalmthout – ED CARPENTER RACING21+1.06402’34.7657232.610
8P. O’Ward – ARROW MCLAREN5+1.08122’34.7829232.584
9F. Rosenqvist – MEYER SHANK RACING60+1.26692’34.9686232.305
10T. Sato – RAHAL LETTERMAN LANIGAN RACING75+1.35612’35.0578232.171
11K. Kirkwood – ANDRETTI GLOBAL27+2.14732’35.8490230.993
12R. Hunter-Reay – DREYER & REINBOLD RACING/CUSICK MOTORSPORTS23+2.43502’36.1367230.567
13C. Herta – ANDRETTI GLOBAL WITH CURB-AGAJANIAN26+1.25992’34.9616232.316
14A. Palou – CHIP GANASSI RACING10+1.26652’34.9682232.306
15C. Ilott – ARROW MCLAREN6+1.31672’35.0184232.230
16M. Armstrong – CHIP GANASSI RACING11+1.34872’35.0504232.183
17E. Carpenter – ED CARPENTER RACING20+1.45912’35.1608232.017
18K. Simpson – CHIP GANASSI RACING4+1.50522’35.2069231.948
19M. Andretti – ANDRETTI HERTA AUTOSPORT WITH MARCO & CURB-AGAJANI98+1.54412’35.2458231.890
20H. Castroneves – MEYER SHANK RACING WITH CURB-AGAJANIAN06+1.55702’35.2587231.871
21S. Dixon – CHIP GANASSI RACING9+1.57062’35.2723231.851
22A. Canapino – JUNCOS HOLLINGER RACING78+1.57332’35.2750231.847
23R. Robb – A.J. FOYT ENTERPRISES41+1.58712’35.2888231.826
24C. Rasmussen – ED CARPENTER RACING33+1.68352’35.3852231.682
25T. Blomqvist – MEYER SHANK RACING66+1.75372’35.4554231.578
26R. Grosjean – JUNCOS HOLLINGER RACING77+1.79652’35.4982231.514
27L. Lundqvist – CHIP GANASSI RACING8+1.80172’35.5034231.506
28C. Lundgaard – RAHAL LETTERMAN LANIGAN RACING45+1.82912’35.5308231.465
29C. Daly – DREYER & REINBOLD RACING/CUSICK MOTORSPORTS24+1.97862’35.6803231.243
30P. Fittipaldi – RAHAL LETTERMAN LANIGAN RACING30+2.07512’35.7768231.100
31K. Legge – DALE COYNE RACING51+2.75732’36.4590230.092
32M. Ericsson – ANDRETTI GLOBAL28+2.80202’36.5037230.027
33G. Rahal – RAHAL LETTERMAN LANIGAN RACING15+2.83792’36.5396229.974

Leave a Reply