NASCAR hands penalties to 4 Truck Series teams after Kansas and Darlington

NASCAR hands penalties to 4 Truck Series teams after Kansas and Darlington

Four NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series teams have received penalties following the race weekends at Kansas Speedway and Darlington Raceway after breaching safety regulations.

The NASCAR Rule Book Sections B&C: Driver’s Window Net were violated by the No. 20 of Nick Leitz (Young’s Motorsports), the No. 12 of Spencer Boyd (Young’s Motorsports), the No. 46 of Brennan Poole (G2G Racing), and the No. 47 of Dawson Cram (G2G Racing), according to a penalty report issued on May 18.

The window net must have an SFI 27.1 label, which indicates that it has been tested to fulfill the safety standards, in order to comply with the requirements set forth in this section. Additionally, the window net must be manufactured no more than two years ago.

Each team suffered a loss of 25 points as a result of these penalties. Timothy Silva (crew chief No. 46), Daniel Killius (crew chief No. 47), Bradley Means (crew chief No. 12), and Joseph Lax (crew chief No. 20) each received a $5,000 fine.

In a statement, G2G Racing announced that it would challenge the penalties imposed on the Nos. 46 and 47 teams. In a statement, Viens indicated that G2G Racing thought the window nets complied with regulations.

The total number of penalty points is an important component of this penalty report. Only 25 were taken from the teams by NASCAR for the safety violations, the drivers did not incur point penalties. Nevertheless, three of these drivers only participate in competitions sometimes.

The only full-time driver in the group is Boyd. He has raced in eight out of the nine 2023 Craftsman Truck Series rounds with the only exception being Daytona, when he was one of six drivers that didn’t make the grid.

Young’s Motorsports’ No. 20 Chevrolet in the first nine races of the season, has had eight different drivers. They are Leitz, Kaden Honeycutt, Derek Kraus, Mason Maggio, Brad Perez, Ed Jones, Stefan Parsons, and Matt Mills have all only made one start each, Matt Mills has made two.

The No. 46 of G2G Racing, which has had several drivers in the driver’s seat, has qualified for seven rounds. Three starts have been made by Poole as Dale Quarterley, Akinori Ogata, Armani Williams, Memphis Villarreal, and Armani Williams have only one.

Only two of the three races the G2G Racing No. 47 has attempted to qualify for have been completed. Cram took the wheel at Darlington Raceway as Tim Viens got his drive at Kansas Speedway.

However, there are more chances to recover some of the points that the four teams lost. The next stop is North Wilkesboro Speedway, where three of them will try to make the historic short track’s qualifying field for the race.

Ogata will take the wheel of G2G Racing’s No. 46 once more. He’ll seek to make his second season appearance. Boyd will continue to drive the No. 12 as a full-time driver in the meantime, while Honeycutt will take over the No. 20 once more as he bids to make his second start of 2023.

Four drivers will miss the race because there are currently 40 names on the entrance list. Bubba Wallace, William Byron, Kyle Larson, and Christopher Bell are among the many guest drivers racing.

The three teams that were fined will be concerned about the lack of spots when they try to qualify. Following the points penalties, the No. 12 slipped from 32nd to 33rd, while the No. 20 dropped from 34th to 36th. No. 46 dropped to 35th place.

Leave a Reply