Max Verstappen clinched pole position at the Belgian Grand Prix in the twelfth race of the 2021 FIA Formula 1 World Championship. In wet and treacherous conditions, the Dutchman grabbed the ninth pole of his career in the dying minutes of the session.

George Russell with a sensational lap took second position ahead of Lewis Hamilton in third position. It was a stellar result for the young Briton to start on the first row.

The qualifying session at the Spa-Francorchamps circuit in Belgium took place under wet and cold conditions with air temperatures at 14 degree C and track temperatures at 16 degree C.

The three compounds for this race are from the middle range of the Pirelli tyres – the white-striped hard tyres (C2), the yellow-striped medium tyres (C3) and the red-striped soft tyres (C4).

The start of the qualification was delayed by twelve minutes due to standing water on the track.

For the first installation lap all the drivers except the two Williams F1 drivers were on full wet tyres.

George Russell’s first flying lap was compromised as his team-mate Nicholas Latifi spun and brought out the yellow flags. But on their second lap, Russell and Latifi went to the top of the time charts on the intermediate tyres.

The other drivers pitted to take on the intermediate tyres for their next lap. Esteban Ocon then went to third position on the time charts behind the Williams duo.

The drivers scrambled to get in their laps before the rain came down again. Lando Norris topped the session ahead of Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton.

The second qualification session started with the drivers on the intermediate tyres and the threat of rain hanging over the circuit. Norris set the first timed lap with a 1m57.235s to go to the top of the time charts.

With six minutes to go, both the Mercedes drivers were in the drop zone and managed to move themselves into the top ten positions. But with two minutes to go, both Hamilton and Bottas were again in the drop zone.

Hamilton and Bottas in a last gasp effort took second and third position. Norris again topped the time charts. In the dying minutes of the session, Daniel Ricciardo and Ocon knocked out the two Ferrari drivers.

Norris was the first driver on the track which was very wet now. Vettel behind him told his pit wall that they should red flag the session as it was too dangerous.

Norris on his first timed lap crashed heavily at Eau Rouge and the session was red-flagged. The rain intensified and the drivers sat in their cars and waited for the resumption.

The session finally resumed at 16:45 local time with eight minutes and fifty-nine seconds left. In very wet conditions, the drivers were out on the intermediate tyres.

Hamilton took provisional pole position ahead of Verstappen by 0.973 seconds. But Russell with an outstanding lap took first position.

In the dying minutes of the session, Verstappen grabbed pole position from Russell in a sensational end to the wet qualification session.


1Max VerstappenNEDRed Bull Racing1m58.717s1m56.559s1m59.765s
2George RussellGBRWilliams Racing1m59.864s1m56.950s2m00.086s
3Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m59.218s1m56.229s2m00.099s
4Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren F1 Team2m01.583s1m57.127s2m00.864s
5Sebastian VettelGERAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team2m00.175s1m56.814s2m00.935s
6Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri Honda2m00.387s1m56.440s2m01.164s
7Sergio PerezMEXRed Bull Racing1m59.334s1m56.886s2m02.399s
8Valtteri BottasFINMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m59.870s1m56.295s2m02.502s
9Esteban OconFRAAlpine F1 Team2m01.824s1m57.354s2m03.513s
10Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team1m58.301s1m56.025sNo Time Set
11Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow2m00.728s1m57.721s 
12Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing2m00.966s1m58.056s 
13Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow2m01.184s1m58.137s 
14Fernando AlonsoESPAlpine F1 Team2m01.653s1m58.205s 
15Lance StrollCANAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team2m01.597s1m58.231s 
16Antonio GiovinazziITAAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen2m02.306s  
17Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri Honda2m02.413s  
18Mick SchumacherGERUralkali Haas F1 Team2m03.973s  
19Kimi RaikkonenFINAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen2m04.452s  
20Nikita MazepinRUSUralkali Haas F1 Team2m04.939s  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)