Max Verstappen set the fastest time during second practice for Formula 1’s Belgian Grand Prix before crashing out of the session.

Verstappen clocked a time of 1:44.472s on Soft tyres in cool conditions at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, following earlier rain, to narrowly head Mercedes pair Valtteri Bottas and Lewis Hamilton.

Bottas and Hamilton finished just 0.041s and 0.072s behind respectively but did so on the Medium tyres, having been unable to improve on their Soft runs.

Verstappen brought the session to an early halt a few minutes from the scheduled conclusion after crashing through Malmedy.

Verstappen lost control of the RB16B through the right-hander at the highest point of the track and slid into the barriers, sustaining damage to the rear-right of the car.

Charles Leclerc claimed his maiden grand prix victory in Belgium in 2019 but also suffered a crash during the second practice session.

Leclerc copped an armful of oversteer exiting Les Combes and as he tried to correct the moment slid into the tyre wall entering Malmedy.

The left-front of Leclerc’s Ferrari SF21 sustained terminal damage and his incident brought out the red flags.

Leclerc finished the day down in 18th place, in front of only the Haas drivers Nikita Mazepin and Mick Schumacher.

Alpine claimed a shock victory in Hungary and while a repeat in Belgium is highly unlikely both Fernando Alonso and Esteban Ocon displayed encouraging speed.

At a circuit where the team was relatively strong under its Renault guise in 2020 Alonso was fourth while Hungary winner Ocon placed seventh, avoiding damage after a spin exiting Fagnes.

Pierre Gasly maintained his and AlphaTauri’s strong performance from the opening practice session by classifying fifth, just 0.012s behind Alonso, and within half a second of pacesetter Verstappen.

Lance Stroll was sixth for Aston Martin, with team-mate Sebastian Vettel eighth, as McLaren’s Lando Norris and Red Bull’s Sergio Perez rounded out the top 10.

It was confirmed earlier on Friday that Perez will be staying within Red Bull’s stable in 2022.


1Max VerstappenNEDRed Bull Racing1m44.472s
2Valtteri BottasFINMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m44.513s
3Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m44.544s
4Fernando AlonsoCHIAlpine F1 Team1m44.953s
5Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri Honda1m44.965s
6Lance StrollCANAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team1m45.180s
7Esteban OconFRAAlpine F1 Team1m45.302s
8Sebastian VettelGERAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team1m45.336s
9Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team1m45.386s
10Sergio PerezMEXRed Bull Racing1m45.404s
11Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow1m45.517s
12Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri Honda1m45.758s
13Antonio GiovinazziGBRAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen1m45.789s
14Kimi RaikkonenFINAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen1m45.967s
15Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren F1 Team1m46.118s
16Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing1m46.198s
17George RussellISRWilliams Racing1m46.665s
18Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow1m46.836s
19Nikita MazepinRUSUralkali Haas F1 Team1m47.335s
20Mick SchumacherGERUralkali Haas F1 Team1m47.529s

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)