Aprilia rider Lorenzo Savadori tops his first ever MotoGP session during a rain affected Styrian FP2.

A rain affected free practice two for the Styrian MotoGP produced an unlikely name at the top of the leaderboard, as Aprilia’ Lorenzo Savadori was fastest from Johann Zarco.

The Italian took over from Zarco with under five minutes to go and was able to hold on despite late efforts from the Pramac man, Joan Mir and Marc Marquez.

While many of the riders chose to stay in pit lane during the first few minutes, Tech 3 KTM riders Iker Lecuona and Danilo Petrucci were first to venture out, before second placed in the championship Zarco followed suit.

After just five minutes on track, Lecuona crashed at turn one – his second of the day. However, the Spaniard quickly re-joined before going fastest from Pol Espargaro and team-mate Petrucci.

As the rain eased up, tricky condition specialists Jack Miller and Marc Marquez went second and third. That was until Marquez went a full second clear of Lecuona two laps later.

With 17 minutes remaining, Lecuona and Mir then got within half a second of Marquez, while Zarco moved up to fourth place.

Zarco then went to the top of the leaderboard inside the final ten minutes as a dry line began to appear. However, the Frenchman was then up seeded by fellow Ducati rider Francesco Bagnaia.

The Italian only led for a matter of seconds before Savadori put in an impressive lap with just under five minutes to go – good enough to go one second clear of Bagnaia.

Miller was unsurprisingly the first rider to try slick tyres but conditions didn’t improve enough for the Australian to go faster, as he ultimately finished the session 13th.

Championship leader Fabio Quartararo struggled to get close to the top ten throughout the session and eventually finished 15th.

Zarco, Mir and Marquez all had red sectors during their final laps, but Savadori’s time of 1:31.304s was good enough to see him hold on.

Alex Marquez and Valentino Rossi both found turn four tricky to manage as they ran through the gravel trap, while Brad Binder also ran off track at turn three late on.


1Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)*1’31.304s15/19299k
2Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)+0.154s21/21304k
3Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.262s18/18303k
4Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)+0.878s21/21309k
5Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.927s12/12299k
6Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+1.007s18/18303k
7Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+1.141s16/16305k
8Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+1.239s18/20300k
9Maverick VinalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.381s10/13299k
10Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+1.537s11/14303k
11Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Ducati (GP19)*+1.720s21/21303k
12Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*+1.848s16/18301k
13Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+2.111s10/16308k
14Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)+2.149s9/14305k
15Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+2.194s16/18298k
16Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+2.285s19/19304k
17Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+2.354s14/15302k
18Danilo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+2.380s11/15296k
19Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+2.602s20/20308k
20Cal CrutchlowGBRPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+2.650s18/19298k
21Dani PedrosaSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+2.650s15/17296k
22Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+3.278s15/20298k
 Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)No Time  

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: