Red Bull’s Max Verstappen set two laps quick enough for top spot during final practice for Formula 1’s Portuguese Grand Prix.

Verstappen finished the one-hour session with a best time of 1:18.489s to finish 0.236s clear of title rival Lewis Hamilton at Portimao.

Valtteri Bottas finished in third position for Mercedes while Red Bull’s Sergio Perez took fourth, as Formula 1’s leading two teams grabbed the top positions.

Alpine caught the eye through Friday practice and maintained that speed through Saturday lunchtime’s session.

While Fernando Alonso had a lap time deleted for exceeding track limits, running wide at Turn 1, Esteban Ocon placed fifth overall.

Ocon’s time left him ahead of Ferrari duo Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz while Lando Norris was the lead McLaren driver in eighth position.

AlphaTauri fared better than its Friday display, with Pierre Gasly and Yuki Tsunoda ninth and 11th respectively, as Alfa Romeo was represented inside the top 10 by Kimi Raikkonen.

In a closely-contested session Daniel Ricciardo and Antonio Giovinazzi took 12th and 13th respectively but were both within 1.1s of pacesetter Verstappen.

Haas has spent 2021 at the back of the grid but Mick Schumacher suggested after Friday practice that he could creep into contention for Q2.

Schumacher delivered on that notion by placing 15th through final practice.

Conversely Aston Martin’s subdued 2021 campaign showed little sign of taking an upturn in fortunes.

Lance Stroll, running the updated AMR21, was only 16th, while Sebastian Vettel could muster only 18th spot.

They were split by WilliamsGeorge Russell, who slipped down the leaderboard compared to Friday, while Nicholas Latifi and Nikita Mazepin capped the order.

1Max VerstappenRed Bull1:18.489s21
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:18.725s+ 0.236s21
3Valtteri BottasMercedes1:18.820s+ 0.331s19
4Sergio PérezRed Bull1:18.840s+ 0.351s24
5Esteban OconAlpine1:18.860s+ 0.371s19
6Charles LeclercFerrari1:19.001s+ 0.512s23
7Carlos SainzFerrari1:19.050s+ 0.561s24
8Lando NorrisMcLaren1:19.272s+ 0.783s18
9Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri1:19.374s+ 0.885s25
10Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo1:19.415s+ 0.926s25
11Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri1:19.485s+ 0.996s25
12Daniel RicciardoMcLaren1:19.582s+ 1.093s19
13Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo1:19.588s+ 1.099s23
14Fernando AlonsoAlpine1:19.949s+ 1.460s20
15Mick SchumacherHaas1:20.033s+ 1.544s21
16Lance StrollAston Martin1:20.090s+ 1.601s17
17George RussellWilliams1:20.127s+ 1.638s18
18Sebastian VettelAston Martin1:20.214s+ 1.725s21
19Nicholas LatifiWilliams1:20.681s+ 2.192s19
20Nikita MazepinHaas1:20.690s+ 2.201s20

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)